Extending Keycloak: how to configure the IDE (Netbeans or Eclipse)

Hi there,
I’m following the book for creating a new SPI provider and this site too: Extending Keycloak: adding API key authentication · Zakaria Amine .

Problem: I’m a Java newbie (usually I use C# and nuget) so is there a guide to create a project from scratch using Netbeans or Eclipse for having a project compatible with keycloak?
Thanks!

A typical Eclipse install would work fine. You should take a look at Maven, which is a popular dependency management framework. Maven also servers as the build manager and makes use of plugins to do things like compiling your project into a .jar file. I’d highly recommend looking into some tutorial just on Maven as a starter as a lot of examples on GitHub use it.

After that, I’d take a look at a UserFedoration tutorial as there are lots to choose from and they’re all on GitHub. Here’s a random one here https://www.baeldung.com/java-keycloak-custom-user-providers

Deploying an SPI to Keycloak can be done manually via the jboss-cli after you’ve packaged everything into a JAR or by wrapping the JAR and dependencies into an EAR file. I’m using the maven-ear-plugin for this.

In short, I’m not sure there’s an inclusive tutorial but hopefully I’ve dropped enough buzzwords to get your started.

1 Like

I found this page to be EXTREMELY helpful:

There are a few inaccuracies/confusing sections (probably because the author is French), but it got me up and running with a dev environment so I could write and debug extensions. I’m likewise a Java n00b (well, it’s been a decade), so it took me a little while to figure things out.

I also recommend looking at these two projects: