How to configure storageProviderTimeout?

Hy everyone,

I’m new to KeyCloak and WildFly :slightly_smiling_face:

I have a User Storage SPI implementation which gets the users remotely and it’s working fine. However, when the connection is slow, a 3 seconds timeout exception occurs.

I believe the timeout is obtained in this code of AbstractStorageManager:

/**
 * Timeouts are used as time boundary for obtaining models from an external storage. Default value is set
 * to 3000 milliseconds and it's configurable.
 */
private static final Long STORAGE_PROVIDER_DEFAULT_TIMEOUT = 3000L;

protected Long getStorageProviderTimeout() {
    if (storageProviderTimeout == null) {
        storageProviderTimeout = Config.scope(configScope).getLong("storageProviderTimeout", STORAGE_PROVIDER_DEFAULT_TIMEOUT);
    }
    return storageProviderTimeout;
}

But I have no clue on how to configure the scope “user” with the property “storageProviderTimeout”.

How can this timeout be configured?

I’m using KeyCloak 13.0.0 and MacOS 11.3.1.

Thanks in advance,
Alex

I haven’t done this for a User Storage SPI implementation, but Config.Scope properties can be set up in your standalone.xml config.

The Config.Scope parameter is factory configuration that can be set up within standalone.xml , standalone-ha.xml , or domain.xml .

E.g.

<spi name="storage">
    <provider name="readonly-property-file" enabled="true">
        <properties>
            <property name="path" value="/other-users.properties"/>
        </properties>
    </provider>
</spi>

from (Server Developer Guide)

Thanks @xgp

This works for configuring properties of provider factories such as UserStorageProviderFactory. But, UserStoreManager (which extends AbstractStorageManager) is not a ProviderFactory and tries to get the property from the top level Config.

I think it would work if the XSD allowed something like the “theme” properties that are in standalone.xml (“staticMaxAge”, “cacheThemes”, etc.). It could be like this: