Keycloack user has a one-to-many relationship

Hello, i’m new to keycloak and i need some guidance please. I’m trying to store the users in an external DB like MySQL, but in my UML diagrams, the user has a one-to-many relationship with another entity called “Product” how can i implement this ?

Do you mean using the existing Keycloak users table or creating a new users table in a different DB referencing the UUID of the user?

1 Like

That’s what i’m confused at. So what i’ve read from the docs is that i can use an external DB and the db gets filled with a lot of tables by keycloak. and in my case i have a “User” with a one-to-many relationship with a “Product” entity.

proposition 1 : using the existing Keycloak DB

So in here, is it okay to add tables in Keycloack DB (Which of course is in MySQL) that have relationship with a User ? If yes, then there’s another concern.

Let’s say the admin deteled the user from the keycloak GUI, so is there a way to delegate this deletion to his products as well ? The second concern, does a user has access to the keycloak DB in MySQL ?

proposition 2 : new users table in a different DB referencing the UUID of the user
for this proposition, in case of a deletion is there a way to delegate it to the user’s products ??

Sorry for this long reply, i’m just trying to see if using Keycloak does suit my use cases, instead of working with it and getting stucked in the middle.

Thank you.

I would suggest going for option 2.

I personally would not touch the DB scheme of Keycloak itself or extend it if you can avoid it.

You can hook into Keycloak with a custom SPI to listen to deletions of users and act upon them.
But your app probably already has an admin section or will write one so you could just delete a user from there and propagate it to keycloak, this way you don’t need the SPI

My app has it’s own DB and I use option 2, as the user UUID is unique it’s perfect to use as an identifier.