Keycloak 18.0.0 - Installation problems

Hi,
I am sorry for this “noob” question. But I am new to Java and this topic.
I would like to install the most recent version Keycloak 18.0.0. all tutorials I found refer to a “standalone” file, which does not exist anymore. Following the origin docs did not work… I am getting the following error message:

"Error: A JNI error has occurred, please check your installation and try again

Exception in thread “main” java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: io/quarkus/bootstrap/runner/QuarkusEntryPoint has been compiled by a more recent version of the Java Runtime (class file version 55.0), this version of the Java Runtime only recognizes class file versions up to 52.0"

How can I fix this. I am not sure if this is a problem of my Java Distribution (17) or Keyclaok.

Would be great to get any hint, where to look for a solution.
Regards Felix

This thread can be closed. The issue was, the my JAVA_HOME was still set to an older JAVA version. Now its running.

Just in case anyone else encounters this like I did as well, I’d like to clarify that the issue is referencing the JDK (Java Development Kit) and NOT the JRE (Java Runtime Environment) – these are two separate installations.

I didn’t realize it, but I did not have the JDK installed on my machine yet, so I had to install that and then update the JAVA_HOME environment variable to the JDK install location; in my case this was C:\Program Files\Java\jdk-18.0.1.1

Edit Side note – The OpenJDK “Getting Started” option does specify this: OpenJDK - Keycloak… I just didn’t read that page lol

I had this happen and it took a while to fix.