Keycloak as an Authorization Service

Hi,
I would like to use Keycloak as an Authorization black-box (PDP in ABAC terms) for authorization on API GW.

What I am looking for:

• Keycloak has the rules
  • Authorized client passes request in structure subject-action-object
  • Keycloak responds yes/no

Note that “subject” can be offline user.

The question is: Is Keycloak suitable for such task? How achieve do this?

PS: While reading the documentation, I found that the requests are dependant on OpenID user’s token. What I am looking for is some sort of LDAP uid to pass, like “xuser - view - address”.
In this scenario, authentication for end users will be done via different Access Manager.

I’m not a Keycloak expert, but this doc might help you: https://www.keycloak.org/docs/latest/authorization_services/index.html

Keycloak does have authorization features, and it looks like the “Protection API” might fit your use case?

Thank you, @bjmc. I learned something about OAuth 2.0 and OIDC. It looks like it solves access to user’s data.
What if I want to guard business data in general?

To reiterate my question:

• Can I forge authorization request for any user (not just the authenticated one) ?

Based on documentation, the policies are evaluated by Policy Enforcer, and permissions are bound to bearer token.

What if I want to guard business data in general?

This is an extremely broad question. The only thing I can really say is that OAuth2/OIDC don’t have anything to do directly with securing data. It’s the responsibility of the application holding the data to store it securely and restrict access so that unauthorized parties cannot read it.

OAuth2 is authorization protocol and OIDC is an authentication protocol. Together, they can be used by an application to help determine who is making a request and what the caller is allowed to do.