Possible security access bug? User able to change their own attributes

Hello!

This is my first time in this group and I am new to Keycloak administration so I apologize in advance if this is a silly question.

I’ve come across and possible security access vulnerability where you can change a user’s attribute with the own token credential but as far as I can tell the user is not allowed to change their own attributes when they log on to the console as themselves.

Here are the steps I took to recreate this issue:
1 . Instantiate a keycloak server with image 7.0.1 (I’ve been told this works on the newest version as well)
2 . Go to clients and create a new openid-connect client (test-client). The configuration of the newly created client is set to default i.e. Standard Flow Enabled: true, Direct Access Grants Enabled: true, Access Type: public
3 . Go to users and create a new user (test) with password ‘1234’
4 . use the above created client to obtain a token for the above user

token=$(curl --noproxy ‘*’ -k -d “client_id=test-client” -d “username=test” -d “password=1234” -d “grant_type=password” -d “client_secret=” “https://localhost:8443/auth/realms/master/protocol/openid-connect/token” | jq .“access_token” | tr -d ‘"’)

5 . Use above token for user test and change his user attributes with below command
curl --noproxy ‘*’ -X POST -k -H “Authorization: Bearer ${token}” -H “Content-Type: application/json” -d ‘{“attributes”: {“a1”:[“1”],“a2”:[“2”],“a3”: [“3”],“a4”:[“4”]}}’ https://localhost:8443/auth/realms/master/account/

This is done when “account_api – Account Management REST API” and “account2 – New Account Management Console” are disabled as they are by default.

Doing the above steps 1-5 this might have some security impact, since in the user attributes the administrator might have configured sensitive information and the user should not alter those.