Random Keycloak Timeouts for Login

Hey everybody! Full disclosure I am fairly new with Keycloak so I apologize if the answer to this question is obvious to some. Here’s a little background on my issue – Currently we have a 3 node EKS cluster sitting in a Private VPC whereby we access our endpoints via AWS Workspaces.

I am deploying Keycloak V14.0 using a custom Helm chart and can access the admin service fine and can equally connect to an upstream AD server and pull in users.

The issue that I am currently facing is as follows: We have Gitlab and Grafana set up to use OIDC via Keycloak and we are running into seemingly random timeouts when trying to sign in. Sometimes the timeout will occur before the Keycloak sign in page comes up and sometimes it occurs after putting in credentials. Other times it signs in totally fine, though this result is pretty rare especially with Gitlab.

Here’s what I found in the Keycloak Logs for those following scenarios:

1. If the Keycloak login screen never comes up – There isn’t anything related to a request in the Keycloak logs as if the request never made it across the cluster.
  2. If I get to the Keycloak login page and put in my credentials I do see successful token creation in the logs.

I am wondering if anybody else has deployed Keycloak in an EKS multi-node cluster and ran into similar issues or if there is somewhere that I should start.

An example error that I get from Grafana is – login.OAuthLogin(NewTransportWithCode)

I have a separate ticket open with the Gitlab team in case it is a configuration issue on that side as well.

Thanks!

Attached is our Gitlab client setup as an example. Note we are using Client ID and Secret as our creds