Request Access Token with content-type application/json

Hello,
I’m new to keycloak, we’re starting a new projet and all worked fine after our tests.
Now we 're starting our tests with a partner and we have a problem with the content-type of the request to the access token.

Normally the access token request send cliend_id , client_secret in parameters of POST and content type is application/x-www-form-urlencoded .
Our partner send the request in json format and keycloak respond a 415 http error ( which is normal .) .

I read the rfc and many examples on the web and all the time, the content-type application/x-www-form-urlencoded is used .

Is there official recommandations not to send request on access token in json format ?
Is there a way ton configure keycloak to accept access token request in json format ?

Thank you for your help

Using the AuthCode flow in OIDC/OAuth2 requires to use sending form parameters as POST request, as you already read in the specs. That’s because the AuthCode flow is bound to a browser flow with several request/responses and redirects.

If you want to get an access token from an API/service, you can use the “Resource Owner Credential Flow” - in Keycloak called “Direct Grant”.
BUT: This is just for getting the tokens, with this approach you can’t make any benefits from SSO, as there are no cookies set/evaluated! Also, this flow is considered less secure!

1 Like

Thank you for you response .
Their message is sent in POST method but in json like this

{

“client_id”: “xxxxx”,

“client_secret”: “xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx”,

“grant_type”: “xxxxxxxxxxxxxx”

}

i will try to make them change the way they call us to retrieve the access token

I tried to convaince them to change their content type to application/x-www-form-urlencoded for the request access token but they replied me this will impact others customers so it’s impossible on their side.