Sign in with Apple

I used microprofile with keycloak to manage authentication and authorization;
what is the best way to integrate “Sign in with Apple” as social provider for Keycloak?

4 Likes

If Apple if OIDC compliant (haven’t checked) it should be possible to simply setup the generic OIDC identity provider in Keycloak. If that doesn’t work then you would need to implement an Apple IdentityProvider using the proper SPI.

I’d like to cheer in on @matty’s request: Since Apple forces Apps to implement “Sign In with Apple” if they also offer an (OAuth-type) third party login, having an authentication solution that supports it might become critical for apps / app updates to be approved in the app store.

I’ve got to admit I’m only getting started with Keycloak and Sign-in-with-Apple, but a hurdle I’ve found is the following:

The client_secret must be a JWT token signed with a key you get from Apple. In Keycloak v8 there seems to be a mechanism for using this authentication (“JWT signed with private key”) but the help popover says “the realm private key is used”, which doesn’t fit the Apple use-case of an externally provided key for that particular identity provider.

Any input would be highly appreciated :slight_smile:

1 Like

Although Apple doesn’t make it very clear, their API is close enough to the OpenID Connect standard that Keycloak can use Sign In with Apple as an Identity Broker. There is a good guide here.

On the Keycloak side, a new OpenID Connect provider can be added (and the resulting Redirect URI should be used when registering your app in the Apple developer console).

The rest of the configuration options should be similar to the following…

Authorization URL: https://appleid.apple.com/auth/authorize
Token URL: https://appleid.apple.com/auth/token
Client ID: equivalent to the Service ID
Client Secret: generated using the private key obtained from Apple (has an expiry date)
Issuer: https://appleid.apple.com