Update user profile through api without admin rights

Hi to all!
I’m new to keycloak and I’m looking for possibilities to update user profile info by api request without admin rights (and without direct using of account resource). Can you advice is it possible to do and how?

Details
I have project with some microservice architecture. I try to create facade service in front of keycloak to get access to user info through it. At first this facade must only redirect requests to keycloak, and later it must get functions of persisting and getting user profile by using self database - to reduce load on keycloak service from extra requests and add some business functions to it. Main idea is to use user rights which comes with request, and not to be “generator of the rights” like admin or something else.

I came across AccountRestService class - it represent api
wich I wanted to see - It uses AccountRoles, which can be added to any auth client. But I can’t get direct access to methods from
Postman request with token, even from account client (I switch on direct access and etc for account client).

Logically it seems to me that access token is sufficient rights to change the profile and I see AccountRestService - it looks like I missing some very little thing.

2 Likes

A working example of an Auth Service that supports microservices authorization: piggymetrics

The Admin REST API

Authenticating

export ACCESS_TOKEN=$(curl -X POST 'http://localhost:10001/auth/realms/master/protocol/openid-connect/token' \
  -H "Content-Type: application/x-www-form-urlencoded" \
  -d "username=admin" \
  -d 'password=secret' \
  -d 'grant_type=password' \
  -d 'client_id=admin-cli' | jq -r '.access_token')

Note: I set the admin-cli Access Type to confidential .

Basic Operations

GET /{realm}/users

curl -X GET 'http://localhost:10001/auth/admin/realms/development/users' \
  -H "Accept: application/json" \
  -H "Authorization: Bearer $ACCESS_TOKEN" | jq .

Output:

{