User Federation Troubles

My environment
CentOS 8, 2 Cores, 4 GB memory, 250 HDD
Keycloak version 8.0.1
Java version 1.8.0_232

All,
This is my first time using Keycloak and everything seemed to work well. I have enable/configured a User Federation LDAP with the vendor Active Directory and configured edit mode as WRITABLE.

I have a bind DN with a domain Admin account. I was able to sync all user/s to Keycloak and no problems occurred.
When I create a user in Keycloak UI and try to resync that user to MSAD, only the first name, last name, email and domain group are synced.
The password and login name are not. I did find this but wasn’t sure if this would be the fix.

https://issues.redhat.com/projects/KEYCLOAK/issues/KEYCLOAK-12340?filter=allopenissues

I also noticed the Enable button when creating a user does not work. Once you navigate to different tab and/or save the user it disables again. I must enable through MSAD.
Pretty much have the same problems as this.

I was thinking that I may have not configured something correct on Keycloak server? or is there something I need to configure on Microsoft AD?

Any advice or direction would be appreciated
Thank you in advance

See: Keycloak, Flowable and OpenLDAP

I’m seeing the same on Keycloak 8.0.1 and Windows Server 2016 AD. Seems not to be a configuration issue, but rather a couple code issues:

• KEYCLOAK-12340: the LDAP user password is not changed from the Keycloak Admin Console
  • KEYCLOAK-12437: AD-linked users can’t be enabled in Keycloak due to a msad-user-account-control-mapper regression

This is blocking our deployment plans for Keycloak, so we’re also waiting for that fix in 9.0.0.

Just curious (easy to overlook, but folks do it a lot with LDAP-enables applications), is your LDAP connection secure (LDAPS)? If not, AD won’t let you change your password over LDAP because it is insecure and can be sniffed, etc.

@teverson

See: Keycloak, Flowable and OpenLDAP