Keycloak Login and User Model with custom data from external REST API

I’m new to keycloak (and a Java newbie overall, as I try to stay away from it whenever possible) and I’m facing an issue with Keycloak which I don’t know/understand how to solve.

What am I trying to do:

As I’m trying to create an SSO scheme across multiple applications I develop, I’ve settled on OIDC and so what I’m doing is trying to transform the information from a REST API and generate a JWT which includes some custom claims, so that every “client” I have uses a JWT in the same exact format, differing only on the specific provider/kid.

At first, I inherited some code which includes a User Federation Provider and a ProtocolMapper (which somehow don’t seem to be linked, nor do I understand how I should “link” the two but maybe that’s an easy thing to solve?).

The Protocol Mapper is mostly working, but I have a huge issue with being able to retrieve the “custom” user information to set on the custom claims.

The issue:

So, I have a (remote) REST API that provides functionalities such as Login and UserDetails.

• Login provides an auth token (a JSESSION) which comes in the form of a Cookie. If this API returns an OK, then the user is valid and logged in and we call this login method from the isValid method on the Storage Provider.
  • UserDetails returns the user information (name, phone, permissions, etc) and requires a valid JSESSION token in order to work, which is the one retrieved from the Login call. It doesn’t work without it.

I’m using this REST API as the de facto validator of the users. If this API says all is OK, then Keycloak should generate a JWT and proceed with its normal operation.