Using external email service for UPDATE_PROFILE emails

Hi,

Our backend is currently using the KeyCloak Admin Client API (Java) to

• Create users
  • Create roles
  • Assign roles to users
  • Executing actions emails (“UPDATE_PASSWORD”, “UPDATE_PROFILE”, “VERIFY_EMAIL”)

Our flow however needs to support the following scenario :

• Instead of using the executeActionsEmail API to have the users complete their profile and allowing them to login we would like to use an external email service to send out user invitation emails.
  • So the update profile email (containing the /login-actions/action-token?key=eyJhbG… link) needs to be sent using an external mail service, and not KeyCloak.

Is there a way to use the KeyCloak API to generate login actions URLs for a user inside a keycloak realm that we can then pass on to the external email service ?

1 Like

I am not an expert, but I couldn’t see a way to do it using the API. If you build a custom extension or required action, you can make a custom action token that way.

Also, there are a few user contributed extensions that allow using other email providers. E.g. GitHub - dasniko/keycloak-aws-ses-email-provider: Drop-in Email Provider SPI replacement for Keycloak to send emails via AWS Simple Email Service (SES). Demo purposes only which might serve as a model for replacing the built-in email system.

Thx for the reply … this seems to change the way the underlying email transport works (SMTP vs AWS SDK) but not how email templates can be externalized.

Might give SO a try and report back should I hear anything. Seems to be a valid use-case that we would be able to externalize email templates and have more control over how signup email are sent, how they should look and what information they can contain (additional application s-ecific context for example that can be communicated during signup that might be beyond what Keycloak knows).

Hello ,