Custom web server for UI pages

Hi there,

I am fairly new to Keycloack so I don’t what I don’t know, so I am doing some research and I would like to gather some information about the following question.

Are there any resources that you recommend about creating a custom web server for serving theme pages?

Rather than serving those pages from the Keycloak server, it would be amazing to give control over these pages to Front End folks so they could leverage their technologies and tools and leverage Keycloak for APIs only.

We are currently working with NextJS and ReactJS stack for the web servers.

Cheers,

2 Likes

You can use Docker to develop the theme. Look at the example in https://github.com/zonaut/keycloak-extensions
A theme needs to be deployed into Keycloak, you can’t run it outside Keycloak.

Thank you very much for the link, I will check it out, really helpful.

My intention is to bypass that theme and keycloak completely, only leverage the APIs to gather the required information in order to recreate those pages.

I don’t know what the full scope of your project is but you will still need to use the Keycloak theme pages for login/register/… pages. At most you can create external pages for some account settings but that’s it.

Are there any details about potential issues of creating external pages for login (probably magic link, some oauth2, and SAML)?

Help me to understand what would be the problem of using my own server for those pages and communicate with keycloak using the admin sdk or something like that I am guessing

read How to create a custom login page using javascript adapter

I read it, really informative,

Worth saying that I am not asking for a JavaScript driven workflow.

@stianst How to create a custom login page using javascript adapter mentioned the theme, but once again, we would like to leverage keycloak as an API only.

I still can’t understand why this is not possible or the potential issues.